Le Grand bé

The island of Grand Bé

The uninhabited island of Grand Bé is located at the mouth of the River Rance, a few hundred metres from Saint-Malo. Buried here is the famous author François-René de Chateaubriand, who was born in Saint-Malo. Before his death, the author asked to be buried on the island of Grand Bé.

A commemorative plaque now marks the site of this unique grave: "A great French author wished to rest here, simply to hear the sea and the wind, passing, respect his final wish."

Why Grand Bé?

The hotel's name, the Grand Bé, celebrates the life and history of Saint-Malo with a nod to the legendary island of the same name, which is dear to the heart of every Saint-Malo resident.

« Taste is the common sense of genius. »
François René, Viscount of Chateaubriand
French writer and politician

The former Custom House

The Place des Frères Lamennais is now beginning a new chapter in its history as the home of the Grand Bé. Formerly known as Place Duguay-Trouin, the square has witnessed this building's many different incarnations. In the 1900's, it was first the Palace of Justice and then the District Administrative Office.

Following the Second World War, 80% of Saint-Malo was destroyed and extensive renovation works began, including of this building, the pillars of which had collapsed. The building then became the Custom House, which was relocated in 2013.

View the interactive map

The building's renovation

In 2017, this historic building was entirely refurbished in order to create a new living space both typical of the town and open to all.

Despite its transformation, some parts of this historical building have retained their original function, such as the current luggage room which used to hold the taxes collected here.

The arched roof of the Wellness Centre dates from the 17th century.

Réservation [grand be]

Reservations

There are two ways to contact us